George and Louise Spindler Award

The 2021 George and Louise Spindler Award

Call for Nominations

The Council on Anthropology and Education (CAE) has established an annual award as a tribute to George and Louise Spindler in recognition of their significant and ongoing contributions to the field of educational anthropology. The purpose of this award is to honor scholars/practitioners whose achievements in educational anthropology as researchers or as practitioners have been distinguished, exemplary, and inspirational.

This award will be presented during the annual meetings of the American Anthropological Association (AAA) 2021.

To be eligible to receive the Spindler award, a candidate must excel in their contributions to educational anthropology, either as scholars or as practitioners. Their contributions must be widely recognized for having significantly advanced our knowledge of the study of educational processes, or for having significantly improved the quality of the design or delivery of educational services.

Nominations must include:
1) a letter that includes a summary of the nominee’s accomplishments and contributions,
2) the nominee’s CV.

These 2 items should be sent to the Committee Chair, Tricia Niesz,, by June 1st, 2021.

Previous Recipients

1989 Elizabeth Eddy/ Harry Wolcott
1990 Dave Fetterman
1991 Frederick Erickson
1992 Shirley Brice Heath
1993 Courtney Cazden
1994 Fred Gearing
1995 Henry Trueba
1996 John Chilcott
1997 Jacquetta B. Hill/ John Singleton
1998 Murray L. Wax
1999 Raymond J. Barnhardt
2000 Concha Delgado-Gaitan
2001 Ray McDermott
2002 Donna Deyhle
2003 John Ogbu
2004 Gloria Ladson-Billings
2005 Beatrice Medicine
2006 Hugh (Bud) Mehan
2007 Michele Foster
2008 Jean Lave
2009 Douglas Foley
2010 Teresa McCarty
2011 Margaret LeCompte
2012 Margaret Gibson
2013 Elsie Rockwell and Herve Varenne
2014 Nancy H. Hornberger
2015 Katie Anderson-Levitt
2016 Perry Gilmore
2017 Norma Gonzalez
2018 Luis Moll
2019 Catherine Emihovich
2020 Signithia Fordham